Flesh and blood

During this pilgrimage of infertility, some passages of Scripture have taken on new meaning in my life.  One passage I find particularly enlightening to my plight is the following verses in Proverbs 30:

15 There are three things that are never satisfied, four that never say, ‘Enough!’:  16 the grave,c the barren womb, land, which is never satisfied with water, and fire, which never says, ‘Enough!’

WOW!  I mean, I know we all inherently know this.  But do you realize the implications?  We are at odds against ourselves in seeking peace and contentment.   Our deepest selves, our physical bodies cry out for pregnancy, for child, for life to be brought forth from our loins. This is not simply some emotional desire within us but our own flesh and blood, created with a purpose to multiply and populate the earth.  AND, it is in NEED of fulfillment.

Sink your teeth into that.  Even as I read these words now, after so many times, they SCREAM at me.  Their message loud and clear – I am NOT satisfied.  Deep cries out to deep (Psalm 42:7).  The profound depth of this passage speaks to my own yearnings deep within me.  Together their voices are deafening.

Oh Lord, would you not atone this God-given necessity?  Hear our prayers for deliverance.  May we find solace in your arms.

Amen.

4 thoughts on “Flesh and blood

  1. It is tough to learn the balance of desiring a GOOD thing and living in satisfaction of what is. For me, I must learn to hopefully anticipate a baby, while yet loving the life God has given me today. That is a tall order, and I often fail. Thank you for your words of encouragement and validation.

    • Loving the life God has given us today…despite it missing those things we sooooo desperately WANT. Yes, it is a very tall order and sometimes I just don’t know how I can possibly be content in the moment, no matter what God does with the future…or how he answers the baby question. I SO want to be there. Able to just appreciate this day, the life he has me this day. Thank you for responding to my post. It means a lot!

  2. Pingback: Finding FAitH. | The Hopeful Pink Lady…

Leave a Reply

