A little eye contact goes a long way

As church ended this morning, my husband turned to me and said, “Honey, I am feeling that we need to try to make more eye contact. It is so important for us to connect in this way and I want to be more intentional about this. ”

Just a simple passing thought.

But seriously, so sweet. Eye contact? I didn’t even realize our amount was less than ideal. But, as I think about it more and more, he is right. We get so hurried through life…run here, go there. Even at home, it is easy to get lost in a book or a news article or making dinner (need I even mention facebook?) that often we don’t even look up to meet eachother’s gaze when we are talking. We get ready for bed, brush our teeth side by side…we make eyes then…but soon it’s lights out and we lose our eye contact. Don’t get me wrong, we have great communication, we are eachother’s best friend. But what not a better way to convey presence than eye contact. I hear you. I am with you. I love you. I understand you. It can say so much. We’ve all had those moments in a group of people when we meet our loved one’s gaze and the look captures the sentiment we are both thinking even better than words in that moment.

I have married the perfect man for me. He’s the perfect partner. He loves me with his whole being. His lifelong friends often will say, “He was born to be a husband.” It is so true. And this seemingly passing comment in church this morning, these are the sweet sort of reflections that he is always saying, always offering up to me. With that, I will get to my point…God brought it to my attention that one of the best ways for me to break through my pain and hurt is to reflect on his areas of faithfulness in my life. It’s easy to come up with a bucket list:

  1. Shelter
  2. Health
  3. Loving Families
  4. Good Jobs
  5. Faith
  6. My dear Husband
  7. Food
  8. Friends
  9. Dogs
  10. Green all around me
  11. Rain
  12. Mountains…

I could go on and on and on. But what do these things mean to me? What has His faithfulness meant to me? Where have I seen God move mountains in my life? His fingerprints cover me and my story. This story that I live now. My pilgrimage as I am growing to call it.

So, to start it all off. I am thankful for a husband who is faithful to God’s calling upon his life. Faithful to the whispers of the Holy Spirit to give more, show more mercy, make more eye contact. To cook me the finest burrito for lunch and then clean up afterwards without uttering a single complaint all while creating a grocery list for us so that he can go shopping later today. He is a blessing. And these are just a few tasty sprinkles of a cake so good, so gooey; a man with so much depth and life in him.

(Yes, I just compared my husband to a cake. I love cake.)

Thank you, Lord, for your faithfulness. Please continue to reveal and remind me of just how great, how awesome you are in my life. All the ways you have SHOWN up and carried me through.

As a shepherd carries a lamb, I have carried you close to my heart. Isaiah 40:11

Leave a Reply

