The Iris and the Lily

Captivated.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes. Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.” Matt 6:25-28

Captivated by the presence of God.

Have you every wondered about those lilies in the field? Stood in awe beside the Grand Canyon? Floated helplessly in a raft among turbulent river waters? Sat in wonderment as your body miraculously healed that cold you had been suffering from?

Today I was doing anesthesia for eye surgeries…and as I was watching the monitor of the operating microscope, I couldn’t help but to fall in love with the iris all over again. What an imaginative, magnificent God to fashion so many different eye hues – hazel, blue, green, brown, chestnut, gray – beautiful. Uniquely different. Wonderfully created. How can people possibly believe in evolution when such divine perfection confronts you daily?

I began to think about our bigger story. The lilies of the field, the iris of our eyes. What about my heart? How much more would he care to cloth it? How much more would he dare to accomplish the great work for which it was fashioned?

I know he is going to show up BIG in my story. I have a first class ticket to the glorious production of my life. Even more, I have been cast as the main character. His masterpiece slowly unfolds. A story overflowing with fulfilled promises and tender mercies. A story meant to be lived line by line, word by word. He is intentional that I might capture the full essence of the purpose for which I was created, the testimony I will live to tell. I am thrilled to have him as my Director…seated upon the throne. At times, he tells me to stop. “CUT!” He gives me a pep-talk. “Alright, Danielle, I love you. You are doing a great job, but I need you to shift your attention to exhibit A and quit moping through this scene. You gotta believe me when I tell you that the storyline is building. Character development. It’s all part of the story.”

“ACTION.”

I trust him. I refocus my attention and allow Him to work through me. He has directed my steps my entire life…holding me closely. Sometimes, I have become too sure of my step and wandered on my own for awhile, but soon he has taken my hand in his and slowly led me back to his footpath.

Tonight, I dream about the day I will be able to look back and praise God for his faithfulness in THIS part of my story. I know He is a part of it even now. Even when He feels so incredibly far from me and I am “alone” in my fear and apprehension for the future. I am comforted by His word and the knowledge that He has turned His ears towards me and has heard each and every one my prayers. I wait in silence for His response. Soon, sweet murmurings encompass me and I am told to be ever present, ever captivated by His love – He will do the rest.

So many questions. So much waiting. So much yearning in our hearts.

Just remember the lilies.

2 thoughts on “The Iris and the Lily

  1. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. I felt the same peace today. So often my desire to have a baby makes contentment so elusive. Meditating on the splendour of God and the way He has always written things perfectly in the past helps fill me with trust for the future.

    Why would God hurt us now if not to heal us tomorrow and cause our stories to bring glory to Him and transformation to our hearts?

    • Doesn’t it though? God is sooo faithful. He will see us through to the end. I am SO looking forward to watching his grand story unfold in our lives and am blessed to journey with you as we wait and walk in wonder of his great work.

Leave a Reply

