Vision: Mine or His

A quote to ponder:

If the size of your vision for your life isn’t intimidating to you, there’s a good chance it’s insulting to God. From: Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick

What is my vision for my life? Does it include God? Is it overwhelming at times to walk in? Do I want great things? Or am I settling for comfort, for ease? Do I even have a vision? What if I can’t put my finger on it? Am I even asking the right questions?

If you’re anything like me, this quote just leaves you feeling a little dumbfounded, your mind searching for answers. Intimidating to me, what is he talking about? Insulting to God, seriously?

Some are meticulous. They are the planner types. They have their 1 year plan, 5 year plan…even their 10 year plan sometimes. They would probably say they have a vision. But, is there room for God in these plans?

How about those just getting by….those who just want to make it through the day or week or the next 5 hours, for that matter? Do they give God opportunity to reveal real purpose to them? Are they willing to take their eyes of the floor, off of the immediate and look up and experience the power of His perfect plan, able to give them far more than they can imagine?

Most of the time, I fit into both categories. Certainly, I have my plans. Yet, I have learned all too early that cling as I may, life has a habit of getting in the way. So, I have a rough plan, but mostly I just want to get through. Preserve enough of myself on any given day for me and my needs and my fulfillment. Am I living out His vision for my life? Or am I just being selfish?

Let me write out that quote again:

If the size of your vision for your life isn’t intimidating to you, there’s a good chance it’s insulting to God. Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick

I wish I could tell you that I have this larger than life vision: Be a lifelong missionary in Zimbabwe. Transform people’s eating one healthy recipe at a time. Give motivational seminars that will grow people’s confidence, equipping them with the tools they need to be successful in life and in relationships. Or how about opening my home and life up to orphans by becoming a foster parent.

Again, I wish I could tell you that I had GREAT and powerful visions to share with you. My life plan is pretty normal.

My current vision often looks something like this:

  1. Grow in love for God, serve Him.
  2. Be a blessing to my husband and invest deeply into our marriage – I want it to overflow with love and grace…for it to be a blessing for others.
  3. Hopefully, we will have our first child over the next year and I will be able to dwelve into motherhood.
  4. Stay involved in the local church.
  5. Probably buy a different house with more room for a growing family.
  6. Be good at my job…do extras when I can…always pursue excellence.
  7. Get moving, stay fit.
  8. Travel whenever possible.
  9. Volunteer at Pregnancy Resource Center

Is that enough? I hope to one day hear my Lord say to me…”Well done good and faithful servant.” Is this vision of mine His? Oh, that my heart would be open to his direction. That my feet would be willing to walk the roads he lays before me. Do I believe that God is capable of doing more through me? Am I willing to surrender my current vision and allow him to take the reigns? Stubborn ol’ me often wants what I want and I want it right now. Infertility has been a lesson in patience and learning that though my plans are many, ultimately God’s will alone will prevail (Proverbs 19:21).

I surrender. Make your vision mine own. Make it big, make it bold, let it bring GLORY to you.

20120208-174147.jpg

Leave a Reply

