Musings in Infertility

3 things to report:

1.  A friend who has known about our infertility for the last 8 months asked me last week if maybe our timing was off.  Really?

2.  A friend told me today…instead of being understanding and supportive, and after she had finished telling me that they have been trying to get pregnant for 3 months and how hard it has been on them (they have a 2 year old)…she said, “Oh well, at least you guys have this time together.  We had 3-4 years before kids and I’m so glad.”   Thanks.  I’m not on your time line.

3.  The baby shower I went to last weekend…an interesting happening occurred.  While my friend was opening her gifts, her sister-in-law began describing to the woman beside her, in a regular, non-hushed voice about her struggle with infertility over the last 3 years.  I mean, I completely understand the pain she is experiencing, but there is a time and place for every conversation.  It wasn’t subtle, but seemed more like an attention grabber.  The hostess of the party just stared at her in disbelief as she rattled on and on as our dear friend opened her presents and we celebrated the upcoming birth of her daughter.  Many of us acted as if we hadn’t heard her.  It was rather repugnant and I felt embarrassed as a fellow sympathetic infertility sojourner for how she handled herself.  No bueno.

 

Other than that…it’s 2 week window time.  I feel ambivalent.  Will it happen this month, probably not.  I am so curious what our next move will be and how this is all going to unfold.

Take care.

 

3 thoughts on “Musings in Infertility

  1. I was always so in AWE of the comments people make . . . was always a painful reminder to me of how much people don’t understand the infertility struggle. But the good news is that I realized how important it was for me to be open and honest about infertility so people have a chance to understand (but of course in the right company- not at a baby shower!)

    good luck in the 2ww 🙂

Leave a Reply

