TWW – Little Joys – Day 1

I have been trying to figure out a good strategy to get through this TWW I now find myself in.  We are on day 3 of our window and I know how these things go.  You’re okay for a little bit…feel very positive about your timing and how much of an effort you made to make things happen.  You remain hopeful…but then time moves on and as you move closer to the end, you can’t help but to put up the defense mechanisms again.  You begin to protect your heart and prepare for the worst….or what you determine to be inevitable…that AF is just around the corner…on her way, yet again, for a little visit. I am tired of these draining cycles…wondering, waiting, hoping, reading into symptoms.  Thus, I am starting something new.  They say it takes 21 days to form a habit…I only have two weeks, but I really just want to stay positive throughout this journey…even more, I want to get outside of it and become better able to appreciate the little joys in my life each day.  Last month, Belle over at Scrambled Eggs put together a photo challenge.   I found it so uplifting and a nice distraction.  Well, I want to take it a step further and make it more applicable to my own needs.  And what I need is to BELIEVE in the impossible and wake up to the GREAT things that are going on in my life apart from infertility…no matter how small, no matter how insignificant they may seem at the time!

So here goes nothing!  Little joys – day 1 – commence:

As I was finishing conference this morning and headed back to the operating rooms, I couldn’t help but be taken aback by the glorious morning I found myself in.  It was one of those perfect, rare April mornings…warm and fresh.  The fountains are filled and a reminder to me of new life and hope.  It was breathtaking, hardly able to be captured in this photo…but it was one of those moments when you realize your mother was right: Sometimes you just gotta stop and smell the roses.  Forget the fast pace job, the stressful patient, the infertile state of your uterus…and just enjoy the beauty of creation all around you.  It is gift.  A wondrous gift that can bring such joy to my heart and really help me feel better about my life and where its going!

Thanks for reading!!!

8 thoughts on “TWW – Little Joys – Day 1

  1. The world really is a beautiful place, huh? I love when a perfect moment sneaks up on you and takes your breath away, and you know that it could have just as easily been missed.

    Hoping beyond hope for your IUI to work! I’m going to take it as a good sign that your cervix was cooperative- it has to be on board with the plan, right?

  2. Holy cow do I *ever* love this post! Yes, yes, yes….focus on the Now, girl….it’s all we have. A breathtaking photo indeed. 🙂 So glad you were able to enjoy it!

    Thanks for visiting my blog earlier via ICLW. #19

  3. Little joys are wonderful. I still remember the little joys I had during one of my darkest times – it was then I learned to stop, just for a second, and truly appreciate them. It is a habit I keep up, now almost unconsciously almost 10 years later.

Leave a Reply

