Houston, we have a diagnosis!

Yes, that was an exclamation point after that word.  Clarification though:  a potential diagnosis!  Why it has taken this long to figure it out, I am not sure.  At the same time, to have a diagnosis is always a mixed bag of emotions. Perhaps, I shouldn’t be so excited to say that we have one, but I have really disliked waffling through the world of “unexplained” infertility.  There is ALWAYS a reason for the season.  Somewhere, somehow, someway, SOMETHING can explain our infertility.  We just didn’t know what it was, until today.

Ok.  Stop, back up…

First off, YEAH for getting the ball rolling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

For the first time in months, I woke up both excited and hopeful about our day.  I am grateful to have the opportunity to pursue IVF.  Of course, I wish it didn’t have to come to this, but it has, so here we are.  It feels really good to be moving forward.

Ok.  Back to the diagnosis part.

My ultrasound revealed a 25mm cyst on the right side consistent with endometriosis.  There it is, a potential diagnosis.  I had a cyst on my ultrasound (U/S)  in February – but that U/S was done at my OB/GYN’s office and they felt it was a hemorrhagic cyst left over from my previous cycle.  Nothing to be too concerned about and very normal. But this one was different, it was “dense” and appeared to be the big E.

I have seen endometriosis.  I have seen its devastating effects upon a women’s body, tiny little spider looking areas of tissue and adhesions that can really distort her abdominal cavity.  I have seen these pictures so many times on the video monitor in the operating room while giving anesthesia to a woman undergoing laparoscopy for infertility or suspected endometriosis related to intense pain during various points of her menstrual cycle.  Laparoscopy is the gold standard for diagnosis of endometriosis – direct visualization of these formations. There is no definitive way for them to know for sure I have this without doing one, but it is quite certain.  My cyst is not large enough that it necessitates an operation, so that is a tremendous blessing.  Everything else on my ultrasound was perfectly normal and my lab results came back normal as well.

Though many of you may think its crazy to want a diagnosis of some sorts, especially this one, I can’t tell you how good it feels to have this whole infertility battle be validated.  It is no longer futile in my mind.  Try as we may, endometriosis, through its various mechanisms, can render a woman infertile.  Of course, I wish it wasn’t this way just like I wish we didn’t need to do IVF, but this is the road we have been given to walk.  We can work with endometriosis. 

Next Monday we have our mock embryo transfer and our doppler ultrasound to look at my uterine blood flow…AND we receive our IVF calendar.  Looks like we are gearing up for the end of June, beginning the medications on Day 3 of our next cycle.

Thank you all for your tremendous support.

 

Here is a fantastic link about endometriosis and infertility:

http://www.endometriosisinstitute.com/infertility.html

8 thoughts on “Houston, we have a diagnosis!

  1. As I was recently given the potential diagnosis of Thin Woman PCOS after two years of unexplained infertility, I understand the triumph of validation! It is nice to know that the “problem” might at least be identified even if the future is still totally unknown. Blessings on you!

  2. Yay for a joyful day of answers! Thoughts are with you as you and hubby continue to make progress. Hope the next set of testing/trials prove helpful!

    • Thank you so much, Emily!!! I so appreciate your comments! I really hope everything goes well too. I am only just learning what this diagnosis will mean for us on our journey. Blessings to you!

  3. It’s great you have a diagnosis, in that at least that way you can build your plans around overcoming something concrete. I imagine it must be really hard just knowing you can’t conceive but have no idea why. So good that the IVF ball is rolling now 🙂

    • It feels REALLY good to have a diagnosis. It really has given me so much more peace…I don’t have to wonder and ponder the possibilities anymore. I’m very excited to be on this new path!

    • Interesting that you have heard that too. I’m really not sure why our OB/GYN never picked up on this. So thankful to know now! I hope it works for us too! We are waiting for our little miracle! Hope you are doing well! Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

