To and Fro, Stop and Go….

Apparently that is how our world goes round.

We had a rough day.  Our RE finally sent us the research study on the benefits of doing a 3 month Lupron suppression in women with Endo and boy was it persuasive.  I spent most of the morning convincing myself that I could retake my place on the bench and sit out a few more months before pursuing IVF.  I listed the pros and cons, prayed a ton, asked God to give me wisdom, did oodles of self talk, and asked our doctor lots of questions via email.  By the end of the day, my anxiety level was approaching the *ALERT*  level.  It was just too much. I’m just not sure I can handle the 3-4 month wait.

So…I went back to the article and reexamined it.  Upon looking over the proposed mechanisms to explain why the women who underwent a 3 month Lupron suppression had higher pregnancy rates – once again, I found that we were back to the whole underlying immune issues.  A 3 month Lupron suppression suppresses the activity of the inflammatory cytokines in your body so that they are no longer “toxic” to an embryo.

Thinking about it more, and doing a little research, we are going to stick with plan A.  (Huge sigh of relief). We will definitely do our first IVF cycle this June.  We are going to bump up our Omega 3 DHA supplements, increase our vitamin D intake, as well as add a few other supplements that supposedly help reduce these dreadful cytokines.  Why not?  What do we have to lose?  Furthermore, we came across another study published in Reproductive Endocrinology and Biology last year that documented that Endometriosis does not reduce IVF success rates. Overall, I think we have a great shot.  I’m going to try to cling to hope.  At this point in the game it is so easy to side with failure and believe it is your only endpoint…but not this time.  This time we will have success!

 

6 thoughts on “To and Fro, Stop and Go….

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement. I am SO trying to keep the excitement alive and not be bogged down by the confusion about what to do or are we making the right decision. I hope you are having a good week. Sending you big hugs!

  1. I’m really excited about this for you! I am also doing many things to lower my immune response. I will be staying hopeful and positive for you! 🙂

    • What all are you doing? I am only just learning about this and it seems like there is so much you can do with diet and supplements. Thanks for your hopefulness and positivity for us. We need it. It’s so easy to lose that in all of this sometimes.

  2. Wasn’t sure if you’ve left for London and France yet but have a wonderful time!! You’re coming to Europe at a great time weather wise, it’s technically a heatwave over here of 28 (about 82F!)! look forward to sharing pics and stories on our blogs from our respective continent swap!!

    • Yeah! So happy it is time for our vacations!!! How wonderful to have a nice distraction from everything else. Looking forward to some heat! It has been so cold and wet here. …and can’t wait to see some pix! Take care and happy travels!

Leave a Reply

