10 weeks 3 days. Doppler Success!!!!!!

Well, we did it.  We gave in and bought a fetal doppler.  Honestly, I had no idea these existed and were available for home purchase until reading about them on people’s blogs over the past few months.  I never thought I would get one.  But since graduating from the RE after our first ultrasound at 6w6d, we have yet to see the OB.  Our first OB appointment is at 11w1d, which happens to be next Wednesday, but I’m not even sure they will do an ultrasound then.  It is supposedly an “intake” appointment.  This OB practice is very laid back or at least that is what I am telling myself as they weren’t in any hurry to get me in.

So, on to the good news.

We ordered a Sonoline B off a website called Clinical Guard and paid about $55 for it.  Not bad and I am SO happy we bought it.  It was worth every penny.

It took us about 5 minutes to locate the baby’s heartbeat.  During those 5 minutes, all we could hear was the placenta.  That, in and of itself, was quite reassuring to me.  I didn’t mind if we couldn’t find the heartbeat, knowing it was still early to get a good listen.  But I kept probing and then all of a sudden the pitch changed as well as the sound.  You could hear the valves close and I knew we had honed in on our baby.  The heart rate was 164bpm.

Yeah!!!  This was the best thing I have heard in weeks.  Music to my ears!

 

10 thoughts on “10 weeks 3 days. Doppler Success!!!!!!

    • They are pretty fun! It’s a little handheld device with a small wand…and you put a little ultrasound jelly on the end and then starting probing your abdomen. So nice to be able to hear your baby between visits.

  1. I LOVE our doppler!! It took us a bit longer to find our LO’s heartbeat (we have been trying once a week since 12 weeks) but, we found it immediately on Sunday at 14 weeks 5 days and it was music to our ears (we recorded it on our cell phones too)!!! It is just what we need to get us through the periods between scans and until we feel babs move 🙂 Hope you are well, nearly 12 weeks now hey?

    • Oohh…what a great idea to record it on your cell phone! I love it! It is absolutely wonderful to have it on hand for those moments I am just feeling the need for some extra baby connection. Happy 15 weeks!!! Does it feel like it is going fast? I am so happy to be 12 weeks as of today!!!! It is a great feeling to get to this milestone! Thanks for taking the time to drop by for a comment! Means sooo much to me!

      • Looking back it feels like it has gone fast, but I know how I lived each and every day, hoping, praying and hating the not knowing if baby was ok or not…so, living it, it hasn’t gone fast enough!! Bring on 20 weeks and movement 😀

        Congrats on 12 weeks and on telling people and on SHOPPING!! It feels more real every milestone reached, every person told and every pound put on! I cannot wait to have a definite BUMP 🙂

        Take care and I look forward to sharing the journey with you.

Leave a Reply

